Seneca Valley students, business leaders and community members were recognized on May 31, 2016, at the 2016 George Henderson "Service Above Self" Awards Dinner as hosted by the Cranberry Township Noon Rotary Club at The Camelot Banquet Hall in Warrendale.
Cranberry Township Environmental Programs Coordinator Lorin Meeder was named Public Servant of the Year; Armstrong was named Business of the Year; Seneca Valley Middle School Counselor Robert Magerko was honored as Educator of the Year; Cranberry Artists Network President and Haine Middle School Empty Bowls Coordinator Noele Reynolds was honored as Community Servant of the Year; and Seneca Valley Senior Megan Piotrowski was named Student of the Year.
Miss Piotrowski was also recognized, along with fellow Seneca Valley seniors Ben Bachik, Carinne Geil, Abigail Von Wormer, Emma Sledge, Meghan Dillon, Lauren Agnello and Sarah Johanknecht, as 2016 Rotary Scholarship winners.
The 2016 Cranberry Township Rotarian of the Year Award was presented to Shavonne Ayres by Jerry Savoroski, Rotary’s Past President and the most recent winner of the Rotarian of the year award. Additional recognition was given to Ms. Ayres and Bill Hewko, for being named Paul Harris Fellows; and to John Marshall for being recognized as a member of the Paul Harris Fellow Society.